Independent directory
Best Paystub Generators of 2026
An online paystub generator is a web tool that calculates gross pay, tax withholding and net pay from the figures you enter, then outputs a formatted PDF pay stub. Across the 10 tools compared here, per-stub prices run from $2.95 to $11.99, four include a free tier, and nine calculate tax withholding automatically.
Pricing and features below are as stated by each vendor, checked September 2026. Every value carries its own date. We have not independently tested these tools except where a value is marked verified.
- Tools compared
- 10
- Price per stub
- $2.95–$11.99
- With a free tier
- 4
- Data checked
- September 2026
At a glance
Best overall
Our top pick — an editorial judgment, not a test result
Lowest price per stub
$2.95 per stub
No charge per stub
Free, though it does not calculate tax withholding
Most document types
13 document types
Most templates
30 templates stated
Has a free tier
One of 4: SecurePayStubs, 123PayStubs, Free Paystub Generators, Wave
Every line here is generated from the comparison table below, so the two cannot disagree.
The paystub generators we recommend
This order is editorial and set by us. It is not a computed score, and we do not publish ratings of our own — see our methodology for how the order was decided.
The Real Check Stubs homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. Real Check Stubs
Paystub, W-2, 1099 and employment-verification documents with automatic federal, state, FICA and YTD calculations.
Price per stub$8.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. No free tier — stubs are watermarked until purchase. A Buy 3, Get 1 Free promotion runs on volume orders, which is a discount on stubs you pay for, not a free stub to try.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Vendor states “Federal, state, FICA, and YTD calculations automatic”; our editorial team confirmed the calculation runs for all 50 states.)
- States covered
- All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor’s own site. Confirmed by our editorial team: withholding is calculated for all 50 states.)
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Employment verification, Employment agreement (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
Buy 3, Get 1 Free: order four stubs and the fourth is not charged, bringing an effective $6.74 per stub at that quantity. It is a promotional campaign rather than standing pricing, so check it is still running before you rely on it. (vendor-stated, Vendor site promotion, checked 21 September 2026) Source: Vendor site promotion
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 5 document types: Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Employment verification, Employment agreement.
- 15 pay stub templates stated.
Limitations
- No free tier; watermark on preview until purchase.
- The Buy 3, Get 1 Free offer is a promotion, not standing pricing — it can be withdrawn.
Best for: People who need more than a stub — W-2s, 1099s and employment verification from one place. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.9/5 from 1,178 reviews on Vendor-reported verified reviews. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The ThePayStubs homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. ThePayStubs
$11.99 for a single stub with volume discounts down to $6.59 each, plus an unusually wide tax-form library.
Price per stub$11.99 (verified, Checkout pricing confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Single stub $11.99. Volume: 2 for $23.98, 3 for $35.97 (all $11.99 each), then discounts begin — 4 for $39.96 ($9.99 ea), 5 for $42.75 ($8.55 ea), 6 for $45.54 ($7.59 ea), 10 for $65.90 ($6.59 ea). Not published on the public site; confirmed at checkout.)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor create-stub page, checked 6 September 2026. Free preview of every figure before payment; the PDF is paid.) Source: Vendor create-stub page
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'handles calculations automatically with no software needed'.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor's own site; confirmed by us.)
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, W-2, 1099 (MISC, NEC, G, R, INT, DIV, OID, C), 1040 and schedules, W-4, W-9, W-7, 940, 941, 944, 1098, 1065, and other IRS forms (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
$11.99 for one stub. Volume discounts available: 4 for $39.96 ($9.99 ea), 5 for $42.75 ($8.55 ea), 6 for $45.54 ($7.59 ea), 10 for $65.90 ($6.59 ea). (verified, Checkout pricing confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026)
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 13 document types: Pay stub, W-2, 1099 (MISC, NEC, G, R, INT, DIV, OID, C), 1040 and schedules, W-4, W-9, W-7, 940, 941, 944, 1098, 1065, and other IRS forms.
- 10 pay stub templates stated.
Limitations
- $11.99 for a single stub — the highest single-stub price in this list. Volume discounts bring it down substantially.
- Price is not published on the site; you reach checkout before seeing it.
Best for: Anyone who also needs W-2s, 1099s or other IRS forms from the same account. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.9/5 from 1,526 reviews on Vendor-reported. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The SecurePayStubs homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. SecurePayStubs
$4.99 per stub with a free first stub, 2026 IRS tables, all 50 states, and unlimited free corrections.
Price per stub$4.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'First stub FREE with code FIRSTSTUB'.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Federal, state and local; handles California SDI and New York City local tax.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, Direct deposit slip (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
What it does well
- Free tier: stated as 'First stub FREE with code FIRSTSTUB'.
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 2 document types: Pay stub, Direct deposit slip.
Limitations
- Pay stubs only; no W-2 or 1099 generation stated.
- Support hours not published.
Best for: A low per-stub price with a free first stub, and it handles state-specific items like California SDI and NYC local tax. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.9/5 from 1,200 reviews on Vendor-reported verified reviews. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
123PayStubs
First stub free, then $3.99 each with no subscription, 30 templates and all 50 states.
Price per stub$3.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as no subscription and no monthly fee.)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. First stub free.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Federal income tax, state tax, Social Security and Medicare.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
- Documents produced
- Pay stub (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
What it does well
- Free tier: first stub free.
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- 30 pay stub templates stated.
Limitations
- Pay stubs only.
- No phone support stated.
Best for: Low per-stub cost without a subscription, and the widest stated template selection. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.8/5 from 4,541 reviews on Google Play (companion app). We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The Free Paystub Generators homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. Free Paystub Generators
A genuinely free tier with no signup, plus $2.95 single stubs to remove the footer mark.
Price per stub$2.95 (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Single Paystub tier, $2.95 one-time per paystub. A free $0 tier and a $14.99/month Pro tier (10 paystubs, $1.50 each) also exist.)as of 18 September 2026
- Free tier
- Yes (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Stated as $0 forever: instant PDF download, all tax calculations, all 50 states, no account required. Output carries a FreePaystubGenerators footprint.) Source: Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Vendor states calculations are estimates for paystub generation purposes and may differ from actual payroll calculations.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. State-specific flat tax rates.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, Direct deposit slip (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Direct deposit slips are stated as included on the Pro Monthly tier only.) Source: Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team
Three tiers. Free is $0 forever and carries a FreePaystubGenerators footprint. Single Paystub is $2.95 one-time with no watermark. Pro Monthly is $14.99 for 10 paystubs a month, which the vendor states is $1.50 per stub. The vendor advertises savings of up to 43% on bulk single stubs and 49% on Pro versus single price. (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Tier structure read from the vendor pricing page.) Source: Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team
What it does well
- Free tier: stated as $0 forever: instant PDF download, all tax calculations, all 50 states, no account required. Output carries a FreePaystubGenerators footprint.
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 2 document types: Pay stub, Direct deposit slip.
Limitations
- The vendor describes its output as estimates that may differ from actual payroll calculations.
- Free output carries a footer mark.
- No company details or refund policy published.
Best for: Producing a stub at no cost, with no account, when a small footer mark is acceptable. (our editorial view, not a test result)
The PaystubCreator homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. PaystubCreator
Free preview before you pay, volume pricing down to $3.84 a stub, and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Price per stub$9.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Single stub $9.99; 6 for $45.54 ($7.59 ea); 12 for $76.68 ($6.39 ea); 26 for $99.84 ($3.84 ea).)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Free preview, paid download.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. States it uses current IRS withholding tables (Publication 15-T) and the latest Form W-4 spec.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Handles California PTO accrual and New York meal break premiums.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Documents produced
- Pay stub (W-2 employee), Pay stub (1099 contractor), W-2 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 3 document types: Pay stub (W-2 employee), Pay stub (1099 contractor), W-2.
- Support stated as 24/7.
Limitations
- Highest single-stub price in the list at $9.99.
- Volume discounts require buying credits up front.
Best for: Anyone making several stubs — the 26-stub tier is the lowest per-stub price in this list. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.4/5 from 770 reviews on Vendor-reported. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The PayStubsNow homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. PayStubsNow
Real-time preview with no signup, 24/7 live agents, and a published US business address.
Price per stub$8.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'starting at just $8.99 per pay stub'; bundle discounts referenced but not itemised.)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Free calculators and invoices are offered; the stub itself is paid.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states plus federal (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Invoice (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor homepage
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 4 document types: Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Invoice.
- No account required.
Limitations
- No refund policy stated on the homepage.
- Bundle pricing not itemised.
Best for: Buyers who want a named company behind the tool — it publishes a physical address. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.2/5 from 1,461 reviews on Trustpilot. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The FormPros homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. FormPros
Free watermarked preview, the largest independent review count here, but sold by subscription rather than per stub.
Price per stubNot statedas of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. Free watermarked preview before purchase.) Source: Vendor product page
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. Federal, state and local withholdings applied automatically based on inputs.) Source: Vendor product page
- States covered
- All 50 states plus DC selectable (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. The page does not specify which states have full automated calculation.) Source: Vendor product page
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, Employee and contractor templates (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor product page
Subscription only: $8/mo billed annually ($96/yr), or $39.99/mo monthly (vendor-stated, Vendor pricing page, checked 6 September 2026. Paystubs are included in the subscription rather than sold individually — a different model from every other tool in this list.) Source: Vendor pricing page
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 2 document types: Pay stub, Employee and contractor templates.
Limitations
- Subscription only — there is no single-stub purchase.
- Business-hours support (Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST), unlike the 24/7 competitors.
Best for: People who need many different documents, not just stubs — the subscription covers 30+ form types. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Rated 4.8/5 from 15,026 reviews on Shopper Approved. We did not collect or verify these reviews.
The Wave homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. Wave
Free from an established accounting company, but you calculate the taxes yourself.
Price per stub$0 (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as no cost to generate or edit a pay stub.)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor tool page
- Automatic tax calculation
- No (verified, Hands-on check by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Wave's standalone free pay stub generator does NOT auto-calculate taxes. Figures must be entered manually.)
- States covered
- US residents only (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor tool page
- Documents produced
- Pay stub (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Vendor tool page
What it does well
- Has a free tier.
Limitations
- Does not calculate taxes — you enter every figure yourself.
- US residents only.
- Salary-based income employees only.
- Pay period start date defaults to 1 January.
Best for: A free, clean stub when you already know your withholding figures. (our editorial view, not a test result)
The The Best Paystubs homepage as it appeared on 18 September 2026. The Best Paystubs
Pay stubs, W-2 and 1099-MISC with a free preview before ordering and 24/7 phone support.
Price per stub$7.99 (verified, Checkout pricing confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. $7.99 per stub. Not published on the site; confirmed at checkout.)as of 6 September 2026
- Free tier
- No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Preview and edit before ordering; the document is paid.) Source: Vendor homepage
- Automatic tax calculation
- Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as auto-calculations based on the latest state and local government figures.) Source: Vendor homepage
- States covered
- All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor's own site; confirmed by us.)
- Documents produced
- Pay stub, W-2, 1099-MISC (vendor-stated, Search result snippet, checked 6 September 2026) Source: Search result snippet
What it does well
- Calculates tax withholding automatically from the figures you enter.
- Produces 3 document types: Pay stub, W-2, 1099-MISC.
- Support stated as 24/7.
Limitations
- Price not published anywhere on the site.
- Refund policy is the most restrictive in this list — successful orders are generally not refunded.
- No template count stated.
Best for: Buyers who want to preview and edit the document fully before ordering. (our editorial view, not a test result)
Side-by-side comparison
“Not stated” means the vendor does not publish that detail. We leave the gap visible rather than filling it with an estimate.
| States covered | Documents produced | Refund policy | Support hours | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Real Check Stubs | $8.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. No free tier — stubs are watermarked until purchase. A Buy 3, Get 1 Free promotion runs on volume orders, which is a discount on stubs you pay for, not a free stub to try.) | Yes (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Vendor states “Federal, state, FICA, and YTD calculations automatic”; our editorial team confirmed the calculation runs for all 50 states.) | All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor’s own site. Confirmed by our editorial team: withholding is calculated for all 50 states.) | Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Employment verification, Employment agreement (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Money-back guarantee referenced; terms on a separate refund policy page (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | 24/7 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| ThePayStubs | $11.99 (verified, Checkout pricing confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Single stub $11.99. Volume: 2 for $23.98, 3 for $35.97 (all $11.99 each), then discounts begin — 4 for $39.96 ($9.99 ea), 5 for $42.75 ($8.55 ea), 6 for $45.54 ($7.59 ea), 10 for $65.90 ($6.59 ea). Not published on the public site; confirmed at checkout.) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor create-stub page, checked 6 September 2026. Free preview of every figure before payment; the PDF is paid.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'handles calculations automatically with no software needed'.) | All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor's own site; confirmed by us.) | Pay stub, W-2, 1099 (MISC, NEC, G, R, INT, DIV, OID, C), 1040 and schedules, W-4, W-9, W-7, 940, 941, 944, 1098, 1065, and other IRS forms (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | 30-day money-back guarantee (vendor-stated, Vendor FAQ, checked 6 September 2026. Excludes dislike, no longer needing the stub, or altering key details where editing is available.) | 24/7 live chat, phone +1 (855) 906-2266, email (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| SecurePayStubs | $4.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'First stub FREE with code FIRSTSTUB'.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Federal, state and local; handles California SDI and New York City local tax.) | All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Pay stub, Direct deposit slip (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | 30-day money-back policy (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Knowledge base; hours not stated (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| 123PayStubs | $3.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as no subscription and no monthly fee.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. First stub free.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Federal income tax, state tax, Social Security and Medicare.) | All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Pay stub (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Refund policy page linked; terms not stated on homepage (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Knowledge base and contact form; no phone stated (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| Free Paystub Generators | $2.95 (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Single Paystub tier, $2.95 one-time per paystub. A free $0 tier and a $14.99/month Pro tier (10 paystubs, $1.50 each) also exist.) | Yes (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Stated as $0 forever: instant PDF download, all tax calculations, all 50 states, no account required. Output carries a FreePaystubGenerators footprint.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Vendor states calculations are estimates for paystub generation purposes and may differ from actual payroll calculations.) | All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. State-specific flat tax rates.) | Pay stub, Direct deposit slip (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. Direct deposit slips are stated as included on the Pro Monthly tier only.) | Not stated by the vendor (checked 6 September 2026) | Contact form; Pro Monthly adds priority email support (verified, Vendor pricing page, confirmed by our editorial team, checked 18 September 2026. No phone number or direct email address is published. "Priority email support" is listed on the Pro Monthly tier only.) |
| PaystubCreator | $9.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Single stub $9.99; 6 for $45.54 ($7.59 ea); 12 for $76.68 ($6.39 ea); 26 for $99.84 ($3.84 ea).) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Free preview, paid download.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. States it uses current IRS withholding tables (Publication 15-T) and the latest Form W-4 spec.) | All 50 states (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Handles California PTO accrual and New York meal break premiums.) | Pay stub (W-2 employee), Pay stub (1099 contractor), W-2 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | 100% money back guaranteed for 30 days (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | 24/7 chat, phone +1 (855) 454-6444, support@paystubcreator.net (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| PayStubsNow | $8.99 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as 'starting at just $8.99 per pay stub'; bundle discounts referenced but not itemised.) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Free calculators and invoices are offered; the stub itself is paid.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | All 50 states plus federal (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Pay stub, W-2, 1099, Invoice (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) | Not stated by the vendor (checked 6 September 2026) | 24/7 live agents; support@paystubsnow.com (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
| FormPros | Not stated by the vendor (checked 6 September 2026) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. Free watermarked preview before purchase.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. Federal, state and local withholdings applied automatically based on inputs.) | All 50 states plus DC selectable (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026. The page does not specify which states have full automated calculation.) | Pay stub, Employee and contractor templates (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026) | Satisfaction guarantee or money back; separate refund policy page (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026) | Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST; phone 1 (855) 881-2648; support@formpros.com (vendor-stated, Vendor product page, checked 6 September 2026) |
| Wave | $0 (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as no cost to generate or edit a pay stub.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) | No (verified, Hands-on check by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Wave's standalone free pay stub generator does NOT auto-calculate taxes. Figures must be entered manually.) | US residents only (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) | Pay stub (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) | Not applicable — free (vendor-stated, Vendor tool page, checked 6 September 2026) | Not stated by the vendor (checked 6 September 2026) |
| The Best Paystubs | $7.99 (verified, Checkout pricing confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. $7.99 per stub. Not published on the site; confirmed at checkout.) | No (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Preview and edit before ordering; the document is paid.) | Yes (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Stated as auto-calculations based on the latest state and local government figures.) | All 50 states (verified, Confirmed by our editorial team, checked 6 September 2026. Not stated on the vendor's own site; confirmed by us.) | Pay stub, W-2, 1099-MISC (vendor-stated, Search result snippet, checked 6 September 2026) | Does not refund successful orders except in specific disputed circumstances (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026. Refunds explicitly denied for template dissatisfaction, calculation disputes, or duplicate orders. The most restrictive refund policy in this list.) | 24/7 — email support@thebestpaystubs.com, chat, phone +1 (817) 523-8255 (vendor-stated, Vendor homepage, checked 6 September 2026) |
How to choose
How many stubs do you need? For a single stub, price per stub is the whole decision, and Free Paystub Generators is the cheapest paid option at $2.95. For a run of stubs, look at volume pricing instead: ThePayStubs is the most expensive single stub here but drops sharply at ten. If you generate stubs every month, FormPros sells a subscription rather than per-document pricing.
Do you need W-2 or 1099 forms too? Several of these tools produce more than pay stubs. Real Check Stubs covers the widest set — pay stubs, W-2s, 1099s and employment verification — which matters if you would otherwise buy from two vendors.
Does the tool calculate withholding? nine of 10 state that they do. Wave is free but formats figures you have already worked out yourself, which is a different product for a different job.
Do you want to see it before you pay? Every tool here shows a watermarked preview before purchase. A free tier is a separate question: SecurePayStubs, 123PayStubs, Free Paystub Generators, Wave state one, and what it covers differs in each case.
What happens if it is wrong? Refund policies vary more than price does, and they are the detail buyers check last. Read that column before you buy — one vendor here declines refunds on successful orders outright.
Frequently asked questions
Are paystub generators legit?
- Yes. A paystub generator is ordinary document software: it formats pay information you supply into a standard pay stub layout. Creating a stub that records income you actually earned is legitimate record-keeping. Entering income you did not earn, to obtain credit or housing, is fraud and carries real legal consequences.
How do I create my own pay stubs?
- Enter the employer and employee details, the pay period, the hours or salary, and any deductions into a paystub generator, then download the PDF it produces. 9 of the 10 tools compared here state that they calculate federal, state and FICA withholding from those figures automatically.
Can I use AI to create a paystub?
- A general-purpose AI chatbot is a poor fit for this. Pay stubs need exact withholding arithmetic and a consistent, printable layout, which is what a purpose-built generator provides. None of the tools compared here describes itself as AI-driven; they use fixed payroll tax tables instead.
How much does a paystub generator cost?
- Per-stub prices among the 10 tools compared here run from $2.95 to $11.99 for a single stub, as stated by each vendor and checked September 2026. Some vendors discount volume orders, one sells only by subscription, and several offer a free first stub.
Do paystub generators calculate taxes automatically?
- Most do. nine of the 10 tools compared here state that they compute federal, state and FICA withholding from the pay figures you enter. The exception is Wave, whose free template formats the numbers you supply but does not calculate withholding for you.
Which paystub generators are free?
- four of the 10 tools compared here state a free tier: SecurePayStubs, 123PayStubs, Free Paystub Generators, Wave. What "free" covers differs by vendor — some give a free first stub, some a watermarked preview, and some a free template with no tax calculation. Check the row before you rely on it.
How we compared these tools
We read each vendor’s own public pages and recorded what they state about price, free tiers, tax calculation, state coverage, documents produced, refunds and support. Every value on this page carries its source and the date we checked it. NOTHING here is independently tested. Do not render any of this as a test result, score, or hands-on verdict. See CLAUDE.md section 2.1. Watermark behaviour on the pre-purchase preview is the one detail we checked by hand across all 10 tools. A handful of other values — a checkout price, a state-coverage claim a vendor does not publish — carry the same verified mark where we confirmed them ourselves, and every badge on the page says which is which.
We re-check pricing quarterly. Read the full methodology for how tools are selected and how the order is decided, or our editorial policy for what we will and will not publish.








